home | login
Login Below
Your Email:
Colored Boxes
Pat Lafontaine

LaFontaine honored with 2012 Jefferson Award

Hockey Hall of Famer and the founder of the Companions in Courage Foundation, Pat LaFontaine, was recognized with a national Jefferson Award at a ceremony in Washington DC on Tuesday, June 19th.

The Jefferson Awards (www.jeffersonawards.org) are a prestigious national recognition honoring community and public service in America. The recognition began in 1972, and has been dubbed the Nobel Prize for Public Service. The organization’s Board of Selectors chooses the winners. The national Jefferson Awards honorees are a "Who's Who" of American history makers. They have included: Bill & Melinda Gates, Paul Newman, Colin Powell, Peyton Manning, Oprah Winfrey, Lance Armstrong, Sandra Day O'Connor and Steve Jobs.

LaFontaine was recognized for his work connecting hospitalized children to the outside world “I represent a great team of sponsors and ‘companions’ who understand the importance of helping those in need,” LaFontaine said. “The courage exhibited by the children we meet in hospitals across this country gives me great hope for their (and our) future. As a long-time admirer of Thomas Jefferson, I am humbled to receive this recognition in his name.” 

The 40th Annual Jefferson National Ceremony took place at Constitution Hall in Washington DC on Tuesday evening. Additional winners included General David Petraeus, musicians Harry Connick, Jr. and Branford Marsalis, former Buffalo Bills quarterback Jim Kelly and Indy race driver Charlie Kimball.

LaFontaine’s recognition is just the second time a hockey-related recipient has been recognized with a national Jefferson Award. (The U.S. Olympic Hockey Team was honored in 1980).



Cisco Dupont Microsoft XBox National Hockey Leaugue